Scientific Advisory Board

Andrew H. Ko, MD, Scientific Advisor. Dr. Andrew Ko, Professor of Clinical Medicine, Interim Chief of Oncology in the Division of Hematology/Oncology and a member of the Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of California San Francisco (UCSF), has  received research funding from the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN), as well as a career development award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), for his work on the evaluation of new therapeutic agents and the identification of individual patient/tumor characteristics that influence prognosis and response to specific therapies, including tissue- and blood-based biomarkers. He played an instrumental role in the clinical development of the first FDA-approved agent for the second-line treatment of metastatic pancreatic cancer and is currently participating in and/or co-leading several important national initiatives for patients with pancreatic cancer, through consortia/mechanisms including Stand Up to Cancer (SU2C), Pancreatic Cancer Action Network (PanCAN) Precision Promise, the Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy (PICI), and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology national cooperative group. He has served on the Scientific Program and Grants Review Committees of ASCO and was honored as an ASCO Fellow in 2018; he is Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Oncology and a member of the NCI Pancreatic Cancer Task Force and the NCCN Pancreatic Cancer Guidelines Committee.

Tanios Bekaii-Saab, MD, Scientific Advisor. Tanios Bekaii-Saab, MD, Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science, leader of the Gastrointestinal Cancer Program at the Mayo Clinic Cancer Center, Medical Director of the Cancer Clinical Research Office, Vice Chair and Section Chief for Medical Oncology for the Division of Hematology/Oncology at the Mayo Clinic in Phoenix, Arizona, is also the consortium chair for the Academic and Community Consortium Reseach United (ACCRU) Network and co-leader of the Hepatobiliary Cancer Committee of the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology cooperative group. He is a member of NCI’s Hepatobiliary Task Force and Pancreatic Cancer Task Force. Dr. Bekaii-Saab has authored or co-authored more than 450 peer reviewed publications, abstracts, and book chapters, including papers in such journals as Lancet OncologyJournal of Clinical Oncology, JAMA, Journal of the National Cancer Institute, Annals of Oncology, and Clinical Cancer Research.

A/Prof Dusan Kotasek, MD, Scientific Advisor. Dusan Kotasek, MD, Associate Professor of Hematology and Oncology at the University of Adelaide, cofounder of the Adelaide Cancer Centre Center in Kurralta Park, South Australia and one of the major clinical contributors to development of FDA approved agents for the first-line treatment of metastatic pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma, is currently the Clinical Research Director at Ashford Cancer Centre Research, the research arm of Adelaide Cancer Centre, after retiring from clinical practice in 2019. He was the Honorary Director of the Burnside Hospital’s Brian Fricker Cancer Centre from February 2004 until that time. A/Prof Kotasek has served on numerous oncology advisory boards and on the Executive Committee of the Medical Oncology Group of Australia between 1999 and 2002. He has published over 140 articles and abstracts in peer-reviewed journals on the treatment of solid tumors, soft tissue sarcomas, GIST, genitourinary malignancies and upper gastrointestinal malignancies including pancreatic cancer.